Rutgers Connect FAQ

    How do I change how my name is displayed in Rutgers Connect?

    By default your name in Rutgers Connect is displayed as it appears in the payroll system. If you are in the process of a legal name change and your name will be changed in the payroll system, this change will be reflected in Rutgers Connect as well after it has been processed.

    If you want your name displayed differently than how it appears in payroll, you will need to speak to your Connect domain administrator. Not all changes are allowed, as your name must still be able to identify you. Listed below are some common examples of acceptable display names.

    • Using an abbreviation of your first name (eg Bob instead of Robert, A. instead of Arthur)
    • Displaying your middle name instead of your first name, or an abbreviation or common form of your middle name.
    • Displaying a nickname instead of your first name.
    • Displaying your first name (or alternative forms) and last names in a different order.

    Please note that this change will only affect the Global Address List. If anyone has you manually saved as a personal contact, that name will not be affected by the global change.

    How will eDiscovery and similar requests be handled?

    eDiscovery currently applies to all files stored on Rutgers Connect, including email, calendars, and OneDrive files. Office 365 features which are not HIPAA-compliant, etc., will not be available through Rutgers Connect for this reason. eDiscovery and OPRA requests will be administrated centrally by OIT, also removing this time-consuming task from departmental/unit IT staff.  There are also eDiscovery tools and an Archive available for eDiscovery that simplify the handling of eDiscovery and OPRA requests. 

    Because all Rutgers Connect data is subject to such requests, people should not use Rutgers Connect for personal files or messages.

    How can I publicly share a calendar?

    Although full details cannot be publicly shared using Office 365, it is possible to make the free/busy times on a calendar publicly available. In order to do so, a user should first share their calendar with any email address outside of Rutgers Connect. This will generate two links for the calendar: one which ends in .ics (for use in calendar management programs) and one ending in .html (for viewing in browsers). These links can be copied and distributed anywhere the user desires.

    What is the difference between a Group and a Contact Group?

    A Group is a comprehensive way for multiple people to collaborate and organize their activities. Groups can be used to send email to every member of the group, but this is not the full extent of their functionality: they can have shared files through OneDrive, a list of tasks through Planner, a site, and much more. Additionally, Groups can be seen and joined (if not private), and members are able to leave. 

    A Contact Group, however, is only visible to its creator, and cannot be joined or left. It is simply a list of contacts in the creator’s address book. It is also known as a distribution list, and it is only used for sending email to every member.

    For more on Groups, see Microsoft’s article on Groups. For more on Contact Groups, see Microsoft’s article on Contact Groups.
     

    Will Rutgers will have unauthorized access to my mobile device and email through Mobile Device Management? 

    The installation message on the mobile devices is misleading.  Rutgers can only lock the account or remote wipe the device at the request of the account holder in case the device is lost or compromised.  Intune does not give Rutgers access to view or manage the mobile device or email and other applications on the device. 

Pages